Buy all your Marco Polo Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

12v to 220v inverter

Method7

Inverters are pretty inefficient, I have experience of a flattened battery on several vehicles just by charging camera batteries overnight. Maybe high quality inverters are better but I would check the stats before taking the plunge.

ianwoolner

this is a great topic, i bought a 200w solar panel system but still cant get 240v from the 240v socket :) - all advice welcome, thanks folks, and hopefully we can get to enjoy our amazing MP's in 2021 :)

Apojapo

this is a great topic, i bought a 200w solar panel system but still cant get 240v from the 240v socket :) - all advice welcome, thanks folks, and hopefully we can get to enjoy our amazing MP's in 2021 :)
Hey Ian, did you already manage to find a solution for this? Would be great to hear your experience, I'm currently looking at a solution myself.

Method7

I may be wrong since I have a horizon and I’m no electrician but I understood that the OEM 240v supply only works when plugged in. When you think about it 12 x 20 = 240 so to get 240 volts your going to need 20 batteries or at best, if the inverter is 100% efficient your battery is going to offer about 5% of its potential. I think your going to have to tow a entire solar farm to make that work.

Epigram

Method7 is right the 230v internal power socket only works when connected to an external mains supply. It will trip at 13amps and 30mA earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB)..

Connection to external mains will also charge both batteries via the ELCB. A common pitfall (been there done that!) is to knock the self test button on the ELCB which will result in the batteries not being topped up when the.even though the vehicle is hooked up.

(Refer to the online guide under Marco Polo Electrical Supply)