Buy all your Marco Polo Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Decision time! 250 v 220

Steve - H

Hi all,

can you help me make a decision! after much sesrching for our next camper I am about to take the plunge. Have two almost identical MP Horizon models in the running, one has the 190 PS engine the other has the 163

Now i'm no boy racer but do appreciate a reasonable bit of power for acceleration when required (sounds a bit boy racer!!) and as I still have to try the 163 ps version I seek your advice please.

My last camper was a 199PS Vdub T6 Ocean which delivered good results, however when I tested the 150 version that also performed quite well.

Any other tips for a newby MP fan would be appreciated. Oh and incase your wondering why I dont want the full Kitchen thing, never ussed it in the Ocean and prefer the room offered without a sink and hob stuck on the side!
Thanks in anticipation Steve

Des

Hi Steve

I’m also new to the Marco Polo having bought mine earlier this year.

I specifically wanted the V250 having hired under powered VW Cali’s before. For me the extra hp makes a difference and the the drive has a more “car like” feel. My last motorway journey I got 44.1 mpg……

Cheers, Des.

SteveR

Hi Steve,

Go with your heart, it is probably telling you V250 if you are even considering the question. If you go 220 you may regret it at some point but if you go 250 you won't as it is never going to be too powerful.

I may be wrong but I am fairly sure it is the same engine just different tuning

Steve - H

Hi Des & Steve and thank you both for the replies.

44 mpg, that is impressive Des, did you do 55 mph?

Steve you are right the 250 was my desire however the 220 has other qualities that make it a consideration. I wonder if you can get the engine remapped like the Vdub?

Anybody done it?

Blackrat

We had our hearts set on a 250 as we were going to use it to tow our 1450kg caravan on longer holidays.