Buy all your Marco Polo Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Gas connection

PeteAkky

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie and have just bought the recommended gas bottle only to find it is not compatible with the one in my van- what do I need and where do I get it from please??

Pete

Steve B

Hello & Welcome - its a campingaz 907, many places to get one, I got mine locally off ebay (can't post them). You can get them at Halfords but I expect you can get a better price elsewhere

Epigram

A word of caution for owners of a new vehicle fitting a gas bottle for the first time;
The regulator may not be fitted or be tightened up properly. It is worth checking for leaks by sniffing for the smell of gas under the van - butane is heavier than air and will come out of the vent hole. Alternatively squirt some soap solution over the ”permanent“ plumbing connections to the regulator.

The regulator has a left hand thread to the camper plumbing (i.e. anticlockwise to tighten. The 907 gas canister of course screws onto the regulator with a normal right hand thread i.e. clockwise to tighten.

From memory, the manual tells you to loosen the regulator to change the gas bottle. IMO not a good idea because it is disturbing a permanent connection.The 907 can be removed and reconnected by unscrewing it from the regulator although its a tight squeeze getting it in or out.

It‘s worth writing under the shelf the empty and full weight of a gas bottle so that you can weigh it if you want an idea of how much gas you have left. Can’t remember the weights - I’ll check.

Reactions: Ian

StevieG

907 Camping Gaz - Butane
Total 6.46kg, tare 3.71kg, gas 2.75kg

I always weigh the gas cylinder at the end of each trip so I’m ready for next time. We seem to use around 3% or 4% per night while away (and on electric hook up). Mostly used for brekkers plus tea / coffee during the day then use bbq for lunch / dinner

Steve

Epigram

907 Camping Gaz - Butane
Total 6.46kg, tare 3.71kg, gas 2.75kg